[v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Post your maps and game saves here

[v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Ratheart » Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:16 am

For those who want life a bit easier and flatter :).

Description:
The map is very friendly, the jungle is located quite a distance to the west so no need to worry about the frogs.
An abundance of Iron deposits on the surface, including a single gold and coal deposits.
A large lake area to the north for anyone wanting to build a city on the water.
The terrain is flat, no more than 3 levels of hills, however you still have 12 levels upwards for building large buildings if required.

Features:
  • Iron on surface
  • Gold on surface
  • Coal on surface
  • Flattened terrain
  • Newbie friendly - great starting map

Minimap:
Image

Screenshots:
Image Image Image Image Image

Download and Installation:
  1. Download the map file.
  2. Place the file or 'Save As' to: C:\Users\USERNAME\.towns\save\
  3. Download the data files.
  4. *Extract into your data folder: \towns\data\
*NOTE* For steam users this will be in XXX\Steam\steamapps\common\towns\data

Troubleshooting:
Problem: If at any stage you upgrade your game version it will overwrite the 'data files' (campaign.xml in the game folder) which will cause the map to crash when loading.
Resolution: Redo step 3 and 4 from the Download and Installation section to re-add the Ratopia section to the campaign file. Additionally you could manually open the file to add it.
Last edited by Ratheart on Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Ratheart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:51 am

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby tom k. » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:43 pm

Moved to the Saves forum :)
Tom K.
Former Community Moderator


Please read the FAQs before posting.
Image
Towns' Official Modding Partner Site - Townsmods.net
tom k.
 
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:22 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby marshall » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:46 pm

For some reason this map keeps crashing.

It seems to happen on initiating containers. Now i normally use the 25 space barrel mod, however even with a completely new Towns game folder it still crashes. Isn't it true that with a completely new game folder it shouln't have any mods? I tried loading my older save game and that worked fine (though missing items 11-25 from all barrels ofc.).

Error log:
[4-mrt-2013 20:42:35][Towns] Error Code [0]
[4-mrt-2013 20:42:35][Towns] java.lang.NullPointerException
at xaos.panels.a.b.<init>(Unknown Source)
at xaos.main.a.a(Unknown Source)
at xaos.main.a.a(Unknown Source)
at xaos.panels.a.a(Unknown Source)
at xaos.panels.menus.SmartMenu.b(Unknown Source)
at xaos.panels.menus.a.a(Unknown Source)
at xaos.panels.b.a(Unknown Source)
at xaos.main.a.D(Unknown Source)
at xaos.main.a.<init>(Unknown Source)
at xaos.Towns.main(Unknown Source)

Ps. i hope map compatibility gets improved, maybe like minecraft seeds?
marshall
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:34 pm

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby countchocula86 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:34 am

Wow, this looks like a great map! Im excited to give it a try.
countchocula86
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:56 am

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Ratheart » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:47 am

marshall wrote:For some reason this map keeps crashing.?


Sorry marshall, I havnt used any mods yet for towns ill have a look when i get a chance to see if its anything with the map file.
I did modify my own map category to generate the map, however dont think I need to include once the map is saved.

countchocula86 wrote:Wow, this looks like a great map! Im excited to give it a try.

Thank you :D
Ratheart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:51 am

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby YetiChow » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:42 am

Ratheart wrote:
marshall wrote:For some reason this map keeps crashing.?


Sorry marshall, I havnt used any mods yet for towns ill have a look when i get a chance to see if its anything with the map file.
I did modify my own map category to generate the map, however dont think I need to include once the map is saved.

countchocula86 wrote:Wow, this looks like a great map! Im excited to give it a try.

Thank you :D


If the map has its own specific category then I think you might actaully need to play on that modded copy unfortunately - the game shouldn't call for the map type again and should just play the file, but if there's even a single reference within the save game to the modded map type then it will crash. Sorry I can't give a definite answer...

One option is to mod the vanilla "normal" map type with the Ratopia map generation, then play that to generate a save - that way the map can be shared to anyone who has the vanilla "normal" map or one with that name (that is, it won;t matter even if the person has a "home cooked" mod already added) - after generating the save you can restore your own "normal" map to the vanilla files.
What's that you're eating? A nice, juicy apple? You weren't supposed to eat that you fool, you were supposed to make it into a pie! - last words recorded words of Francis D'Avre before he went looking for snowcherries, but found a hungry Yeti instead.
User avatar
YetiChow
 
Posts: 3149
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Cramped between a Yeti's small intestine and its stomach... trying not to dissolve!

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Anonymous_User » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:33 pm

Could you upload the generation files? so it wont crash anymore?
Anonymous_User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:04 pm

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Ratheart » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:21 pm

Sorry guys, is everyone getting the problem?

I tried loading the game once I had deleted my deleted profile and it loaded hence the upload.

When I get home I will upload the moded files so you can use the map.
I will also try to change the file so it looks for the base directory as YetiChow suggested.
Ratheart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:51 am

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Ratheart » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:19 am

Updated the post with install instructions 3 and 4.
Files included.
Can you guys please test and let me know if it works?

When i get some time I will try changing the map so it does not require the additional map settings.

With the data files you get an additional Map option called RATOPIA.
This is has the same features as the map, it creates 2 iron and 1 gold deposit on the surface and lowers all hills.
Ratheart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:51 am

Re: [v10b][MAP] Ratopia starting map.

Postby Anonymous_User » Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:14 am

It works now. Thanks man!
Anonymous_User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:04 pm

Next

Return to Maps and game saves

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron